New Jersey Civil Service Commission Job Announcements
Back to Previous screen
Symbol:  S0492R        
Issue Date: 05/02/2013 Closing Date: 05/23/2013
Jurisdiction: STATE Salary: $45,000.00 Per Year
Num. of Positions: 4 Workweek: 35 Hours per week
Application Fee: $25.00
Open to Residents of:
New Jersey
EDUCATION:  Graduation from an accredited college or university with a Bachelor's degree in one of the Biological Sciences, Biology, Biostatistics, Microbiology, Natural Science, Zoology, Marine Science, Wildlife Biology, Marine Biology, Animal Science, Botany, Physics, Wildlife Science/Conservation, Fisheries Science, Wildlife Management, Conservation Law Enforcement, Ecology, Natural Resource Management, Environmental Studies or Environmental Science. The Bachelor's degree must include or be supplemented by twenty-four (24) semester hour credits in any combination of the following areas: Fisheries Science, Wildlife Science, Ecology, Natural Resource Management or Biological Sciences.  Please submit a copy of your transcript with your application.  Failure to do so will result in ineligibility.

NOTE:  A Bachelor's degree in Environmental Education, Parks and Recreation or Criminal Justice supplemented by thirty (30) semester hour credits in any combination of the subject areas indicated above will be considered acceptable. 

SPECIAL REQUIREMENTS:  Minimum of eighteen (18) years of age.

CITIZENSHIP:  United States Citizenship.

TRAINING:  Appointees must be able to satisfactorily complete the police training course administered by the New Jersey State Police or other accredited police training academy certified by the Police Training Commissioner (PTC).  Such training includes successful attainment of a level of proficiency in the use of firearms.

Appointees must successfully qualify in the use of firearms on a semi-annual basis, or more frequently, if required by the appointing authority.

NOTE:  Appointees will be required to attend and successfully complete an eight (8) week Division training course covering fish and wildlife rules and regulations upon appointment to the position.

MEDICAL/PSYCHOLOGICAL EXAMINATION:  Candidates certified from the eligible list for this title will be required to undergo medical and psychological examinations administered by the Appointing Authority.

RESIDENCY:  Appointees will be required to establish residence in the approved residency area defined for the assigned administrative area of the state within ninety (90) days of completion of the Working Test Period.

LICENSE:  Appointee will be required to possess a driver's license valid in New Jersey.  Please submit a copy of your license with your application.

Appointees may be required to obtain a motorboat operator's license issued by the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission and a Boating Safety Certificate from a program approved by the New Jersey State Police.

SPECIAL NOTE:  Only on-line applications will be accepted for this announcement.  Please disregard the first sentence in #2 under IMPORTANT INFORMATION below.  You must select the online application option for this announcement.


SAVE ON POSTAGE!  GO PAPERLESS!  RECEIVE IMMEDIATE CONFIRMATION THAT YOUR APPLICATION HAS BEEN RECEIVED!  You can now file an application for this examination on-line.  Visit the Civil Service Commission website at  You can now complete and submit your application and payment on-line to the Civil Service Commission and you will receive an immediate receipt confirmation!


Important Information:
  1. NJAC 4A:4-2.3(b) states that all requirements must be met as of the closing date.
  2. Online applications must be completed and submitted by the closing date listed above.
  3. You must complete your application in detail. Your score may be based on a comparison of your background with the job requirements. Failure to complete your application properly may lower your score or cause you to fail.
  4. If an employment list results from this announcement, it may be certified to fill full-time and part-time positions.
  5. If the announcement is open to residents of more than one jurisdiction, the eligible list will be ranked according to that residency sequence. Please click here for additional information
  6. Effective September 1, 2011, the New Jersey First residency law was enacted. Please click here for additional information.
  7. In accordance with Public Law 2010 c. 26, Veterans pay a reduced application fee of $15.00 if they have previously established Veteran's Preference with the DMAVA (as defined by NJSA 11A:5-1 et seq) or their claim is approved by DMAVA at least 8 days prior to the issuance of the eligibility list. Please note this reduced fee does not apply to Public Safety titles.
  • Read Description of Job and Specification:32648
  • Click here to apply via the Online Application System
  • Back to Previous screen

    Copyright © State of New Jersey,
    Civil Service Commission
    P.O. Box 310
    Trenton, NJ 08625