|The Parole Officer Recruit application must be submitted with the appropriate fee. Anyone applying for this announcement who took the 2013 State Correction Officer Recruit exam in March 2013 will NOT be scheduled to take an examination, but will automatically have their test results applied to this announcement.
EDUCATION: Graduation from an accredited college or university with a Bachelor's Degree. Foreign transcripts must be evaluated by a recognized evaluation service. Please submit a copy of your evaluation with your application. Failure to do so will result in ineligibility.
NOTE: Experience may not be substituted for the above educational requirement.
AGE: Minimum of eighteen (18) years of age.
CITIZENSHIP: No person shall be appointed as a State Parole Officer Recruit unless he/she is a citizen of the United States.
NOTE: At the time of appointment, applicants for this position must submit acceptable proof of meeting the indicated requirements.
NOTE: Appointee will be required to satisfactorily complete a Parole Officer Recruit Training Program as part of the one (1) year recruit period. Such training includes successful attainment of a level of proficiency in the use of firearms. Appointees to this position shall be required to qualify in the use of firearms on a semi-annual basis.
SPECIAL NOTE: Candidates certified from the eligible list for this title will be required to undergo medical and psychological examinations administered by the appointing authority.
LICENSE: Appointees will be required to possess a driver's license valid in New Jersey at the time of appointment.
NOTE: The responsibility for ensuring that employees possess the required motor vehicle license, commensurate with the class and type of vehicles they operate, rests with the Appointing Authority.
PROMOTION: Appointees who successfully complete the required twelve (12) month training period will be eligible for promotion to the title Senior Parole Officer, under Civil Service Commission Procedures.
The inability of an employee in this title to attain a level of performance warranting advancement to the title listed above shall be considered as cause for separation.
Candidates should refer to the LEE Administration Guide, posted on our website at http://www.state.nj.us/csc/seekers/jobs/orientation/, for more information about their exam.
SPECIAL NOTE: Only on-line applications will be accepted for this announcement. Please disregard the first sentence in #2 under IMPORTANT INFORMATION below. You must select the online application option for this announcement.
| Important Information:
NJAC 4A:4-2.3(b) states that all requirements must be met as of the
Online applications must be completed and submitted by the closing date listed
You must complete your application in detail. Your score may
be based on a comparison of your background with the job requirements. Failure
to complete your application properly may lower your score or cause you to fail.
If an employment list results from this announcement, it may be certified to
fill full-time and part-time positions.
- Effective September 1, 2011, the New Jersey First residency law was enacted. Please
click here for additional information.
- In accordance with Public Law 2010 c. 26, Veterans pay a reduced application fee
of $15.00 if they have previously established Veteran's Preference with the DMAVA
(as defined by NJSA 11A:5-1 et seq) or their claim is approved by DMAVA at least
8 days prior to the issuance of the eligibility list. Please note this reduced fee
does not apply to Public Safety titles.