|EXPERIENCE: Five (5) years of experience in navigation of coastal waters in boats operated by marine diesel, inboard, or outboard gasoline engines, including at least one (1) year of experience as captain, mate, or second-in-command in the navigation of small craft.
LICENSE: Applicants must possess a current Boat Safety Certificate. Please submit a copy of your certificate with your application. Failure to do so will result in inelilgibility.
NOTE: Possession of a current, valid United States Coast Guard Master license may be substituted for the indicated experience (100 ton, 200 ton, 500 ton, or unlimited). If you are substituting a United States Coast Guard Master License for the indicated experience, please submit a copy of your license with your application. Failure to do so will result in ineligibility.
NOTE: Possession of a current, valid United States Coast Guard Operator of Uninspected Passenger Vessels (6-pack) license may be substituted for two (2) years of indicated experience. If you are substituting a United States Coast Guard Operator of Uninspected Passenger Vessels (6-pack) licnse for two (2) years of the indicated experience, please submit a copy of your license with your application. Failure to do so will result in ineligibility.
NOTE: An Operator of Uninspected Passenger Vessels License or a Master's License issued by the United States Coast Guard, currently valid for the type and size vessel being operated, may be substituted for the Boating Safety Certificate. If you are substituting license for the Boating Safety Certificate, please submit a copy of your license with your application. Failure to do so will result in inelilgibility.
LICENSE: Applicants will be required to possess a driver's license valid in New Jersey only if the operation of a vehicle, rather than employee mobility, is necessary to perform essential duties of the position.
NOTE: The responsibility for ensuring that employees possess the required motor vehicle license, commensurate with the class and type of vehicles they operate, rests with the Appointing Authority.
NJAC 4A:4-2.3(b) states that all requirements must be met as of the
Online applications must be completed and submitted by the closing date listed
You must complete your application in detail. Your score may
be based on a comparison of your background with the job requirements. Failure
to complete your application properly may lower your score or cause you to fail.
NOTE: Auto-fill may cause incomplete information on your application. Please confirm your name, address and phone number prior to submitting your application.
If an employment list results from this announcement, it may be certified to fill full-time and part-time positions.
- Effective September 1, 2011, the New Jersey First residency law was enacted. Please
click here for additional information.
- In accordance with Public Law 2010 c. 26, Veterans pay a reduced application fee of $15.00 if they have previously established
Veteran's Preference with the DMAVA (as defined by NJSA 11A:5-1 et seq). Those claiming Veteran’s Preference but have not yet
received approval from DMAVA must pay the full application fee and may request a refund if the claim is approved at least 8 days prior
to the issuance of the eligibility list. Please note this reduced fee does not apply to Public Safety titles.
- Application fees submitted via personal check or money order must be postmarked within five (5) business days of submitting your application.
If your fee is postmarked after five (5) business days, or is returned as invalid, you will be declared ineligible and denied admittance to the examination process.