Back to job list

 C2434E
 COUNTY CORRECTIONAL POLICE OFFICER
03/01/2023
03/31/2023
MERCER COUNTY
$0.00 Per Year
Vacancies Anticipated
40 Hours per Week
$35.00

(1) Mercer County; (2) Burlington County, Hunterdon County, Middlesex County, Monmouth County, Somerset County; (3) New Jersey

Before proceeding, you must Click Here and read the 2023 Law Enforcement Examination Fact Sheet.
 
EDUCATION:  Applicants must possess a High School Diploma or equivalent.

AGE:  Applicants must be a of minimum of eighteen (18) years of age.

LICENSE:  Appointees must possess a driver’s license valid in New Jersey.

NOTE:  Appointees may be required to possess a valid Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) and applicable endorsements for the class and type of vehicle being operated.

The responsibility for ensuring that employees possess the required motor vehicle license, commensurate with the class and type of vehicles the operate, rests with the Appointing Authority.

CITIZENSHIP:  Applicants must be a citizen of the United States.

NOTE:  Applicants for this position must submit acceptable proof of meeting the above indicated requirements.

SPECIAL QUALIFICATIONS:  Appointees must have successfully completed a police training course approved by the New Jersey Police Training Commission. Such training includes successful attainment of a satisfactory level of proficiency in the
use of firearms.

NOTE:  Appointees will be required to qualify/requalify in the use of firearms in accordance with State of New Jersey regulatory requirements.

NOTE:  Appointees to positions in SWAT, SERT or related units must additionally qualify quarterly in the use of all weapons used by the unit.

NOTE: MEDICAL EXAMINATION:  Appointees may be required to pass a thorough medical and psychological examination administered by the appointing authority. Any medical psychological or physical condition or defect which would prevent efficient performance of the duties of the position, cause the appointee to be a hazard to self or others, or become aggravated as a result of performance of these duties, will be cause for rejection. Appointees may be required to
undergo a psychiatric examination. Failure to demonstrate sufficient capacity to perform duties of this position may be cause for rejection.

PLEASE NOTE:  Applications must be completed and submitted by 4:00pm on the closing date. 
 
Customer Care and Technical Support:  If you are having difficulty submitting your application online, customer care and technical support are available during regular business hours, 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. EST, Monday - Friday, excluding holidays and emergency closings.  Please email: OAS.support@csc.nj.gov or call (609) 292-4144.  Please note that application support requests received outside regular business hours on the closing date will not change the application filing
  1. NJAC 4A:4-2.3(b) states that all requirements must be met as of the closing date.
  2. Online applications must be completed and submitted by the closing date listed above.
  3. You must complete your application in detail. Your score may be based on a comparison of your background with the job requirements. Failure to complete your application properly may lower your score or cause you to fail. NOTE: Auto-fill may cause incomplete information on your application. Please confirm your name, address and phone number prior to submitting your application.
  4. If an employment list results from this announcement, it may be certified to fill full-time and part-time positions.
  5. Effective September 1, 2011, the New Jersey First residency law was enacted. Please click here for additional information. In accordance with Public Law 2010 c. 26, Veterans pay a reduced application fee of $15.00 if they have previously established Veteran's Preference with the DMAVA (as defined by NJSA 11A:5-1 et seq). Those claiming Veteran’s Preference but have not yet received approval from DMAVA must pay the full application fee and may request a refund if the claim is approved at least 8 days prior to the issuance of the eligibility list. Please note this reduced fee does not apply to Public Safety titles.
  6. Application fees submitted via personal check or money order must be postmarked within five (5) business days of submitting your application. If your fee is postmarked after five (5) business days, or is returned as invalid, you will be declared ineligible and denied admittance to the examination process.
  7. The Civil Service Commission is increasing its use of emails as a communication tool. Please ensure that your email is always up-to-date so that important information about the testing process is not missed. Please remember to check your junk mail, spam, and clutter for these important messages.

  • Read Description of Job and Specification: 01400
  • Click here  to apply via the Online Application System